If I go running again, I’ll get hungry!

City

Good job, Boston!

I just arrived in Boston a few days ago, and am still getting adjusted.  I have been walking a lot, and everywhere I go I am surprised by how many joggers there are at all times of day.  On Saturday I was walking home at noon in bright sun and 90 degree weather, and it started raining…and there were still people out jogging!  A woman running by herself on the street wearing shorts is already something you would never see in Morocco, but to add being in the rain and heat makes it all the more impossible.  I felt like one of those men who sit in cafés and watch people all day because I could not stop staring at all those joggers.

 

 

 

I’m actually pretty happy that running at all times is acceptable, because that was something I really missed in Morocco.  I’ve been running on a beautiful tree-lined path each morning, and have been breathing in as much fresh air as possible to counter all of the polluted air I took in during the past few years.

Reservoir

I guess this is sort of pretty

However, the one thing I still have not figured out is where people are getting their food.  Of course, there are plenty of restaurants all over the city, and some major supermarkets along with convenience stores.  But compared to Casablanca, Boston feels like a food desert.  Where are the vegetable stands with all of the fresh produce I could want?  How will I know where I can buy fresh meat if the sheep heads aren’t hanging up in front of the shop?  Where is my neighborhood fig man who yells out what he is selling so I can always find him?

DSCF6361 copy

How it’s supposed to be

My family has suggested using Peapod to deliver groceries, and I was told that there is a good produce store not too far from where I live.  I also found that the man who works at the nearest convenience store is Moroccan, so maybe he has some tips about where to get pomegranates and sheep heads.  But I better figure something out soon, because if I keep going out to run, I’ll only get hungrier!

4 thoughts on “If I go running again, I’ll get hungry!

  1. The absence of fresh food stands and bakeries is STILL our deepest disappointment and most painful pain here in Vegas, and we’ve been here for 5 years!!! What is known as farmers market here puts me, a European, in deep bewilderment. What my Love – a Moroccan – thinks of the whole situation is severely censored 🙂

  2. I don’t think you are going to find sheep heads in Boston, but I hope you can find some fresh meat!! 🙂 Do you have a way to get to a larger grocery store? Shopping in a convenience store is not going to work. I know summer is a good time for farmer’s markets, but it will get hard during the summer. I think you’re going to have to lower your expectations when it comes to fruits and vegetables, unfortunately. The lack of fast food restaurants was refreshing in Europe, and it really gave me a fresh outlook on junk food! Yuck!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

