Weekend in El Jadida

This weekend was my last weekend in Morocco before I leave for the summer.  To fully enjoy the Moroccan sun, my boyfriend and I went to the coastal city of El Jadida.  Only about an hour from Casablanca by train, El Jadida is an easy escape from the big city.  We arrived on Friday night, and set out first thing on Saturday to explore the city and check out our beach options.

Image

No motorcycles here!

The major site of El Jadida is the Cité Portugaise.  There are walls built around the tiny city, and some old canons warding off pirates.

Image

Don’t worry; they don’t work.

My boyfriend proved that he is really to attack those pirates, should they come.  I’m ready to flip my hair at them.

IMG_4421 copyIMG_4423 copyOn Saturday afternoon, we made our way to the beach.  It was pretty busy, but the water was perfect.

IMG_4434 copy

Perhaps London would be this colorful if it could borrow El Jadida’s sunshine.

The highlight of the weekend came as a surprise.  Back in November, the circus had been in Casablanca, and I had really wanted to go.  My students had obviously all seen it in the fall, because for a couple of months all they wanted to do in class was “faire un spectacle.”  My friends saw it and discussed their favorite acts, and I could only imagine the things they described.  And then when we showed up in El Jadida, one of the first things we saw was the big red circus tent.  J’ai de la bonne chance!

IMG_4545 copy

 

Next weekend I’ll be in London with my very best sister.  We plan on taking lots of photos, rain or shine.

One thought on “Weekend in El Jadida

  1. Hi there! My name is Celia Morris, I’m a 19 year old American staying in Morocco for two months during my gap year. I arrived a week ago and have been almost exclusively in Berrechid (a town outside of Casablanca), except for two days I spent in El Jadida. I’m volunteering at a Language school, assisting in English classes. I’ll be moving to the Casablanca branch soon (hopefully within the next day), and I’m wondering whether you would consider meeting me sometime? It’s my first time in Morocco and I would love to hear about your experiences and maybe you could recommend things for me to do within the next 6 weeks. I look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

