Liebster Award

I was recently nominated for the Liebster award, which is for up-and-coming blogs.  Hopefully it is a sign of great blogging-related things to come!

liebster-award-1

Here are my answers to the interview questions given by my nominator, belsbor, who is both a farmer and an aspiring blogger.  Belsbor blogs at http://belsbror.wordpress.com.  Thanks for the nomination!

(Instructions for my nominees are below.)

1. What does blogging do for you?

It gives me a chance to reflect on life as an expat (and life in general) and to share my thoughts with others.  It also gives me the perfect way to express myself; I’m very quiet, so I prefer writing to talking!

2. What blogger(s) feed your soul? How-or-Why?

Fellow expat bloggers who are going through similar successes and failures.  And food blogs…maybe that feeds my stomach, though.

3. What is your favorite subject (category) to blog about?

Expat life.  There’s always something interesting to report on!  Expat related topics can range from where to buy foreign products to the meaning of life.

4. What post of yours means the most to you? How-or-Why?

MKs and Committed Knitters (http://eleanordorothy.com/2013/09/08/mks-and-committed-knitters/).  I think it brings together the seemingly different but actually very similar worlds of knitters and missionaries.  Also, I really enjoyed modeling my mom’s sweaters.

DSCF8404 copy

Sweaters AND mittens.

5. What about you will be most instrumental in God’s eternal plan for you, whatever that may be?

Maybe my ability to observe.  My favorite thing about blogging is that I can watch what is going on around me, think about it and form an opinion, turn it into something with my own twist in a blog post, and then share it with the world.  So I’d like to think that the plan is that I’ll become a famous expat blogger.  I wonder if I’d even get to quit my day job….

6. What are you most passionate about in ministry and/or life in general?

Right now, pomegranates.  Really, they’re a metaphor for everything: hard to choose the right one from the outside, takes a long time to free all of the seeds without getting any of the bad stuff, finally delicious.  And of course, writing, traveling, reading, cooking, and learning languages.

7. If your writing were discovered a hundred years from now, what would people learn about you, today’s world, and your interests?

Hopefully, they’d discover that Morocco has developed a lot, Arab-American relations have improved, and that Eleanor Dorothy became fluent in French at a young age while establishing herself in the world of expat blogging.

8. Talk about meeting your favorite Bible character (not Jesus).

I’d like to ask Abraham how he felt when thought he was going to have to kill his son.

9. Describe your writing process for something that moves you deeply.

Usually I’ll think about my next entry for a few days, and then start typing it at night, with a cup of tea.  I generally have several drafts before I am ready to publish.

10. Describe your perfect day out — with who, what, where, why — etc.

It depends on where I am!  In Morocco, I love walking around the market in Rabat, because there are so many different vendors and so much to look at.  In Chicago, I love biking down the lakefront path and stopping for lunch  or at a museum downtown.

I try not to get lost on days out.

I try not to get lost on days out.

Here are my nominees for the award. They will use the following instructions and answer the questions below.

Safia: topofthetent.wordpress.com

The Lonely Ghost Light: thelonelyghostlight.wordpress.com

Longhorns and Camels: longhornsandcamels.wordpress.com

Beatrice Onyango: madamonyango.wordpress.com

  • Accept the award by posting the logo on your site, thanking and linking back to your nominator.
  • Answer the set of questions asked of you by your nominator.
  • Select (nominate) 3-6 blogs you wish to recognize (with 200 WordPress followers or less), notifying them by commenting on their site.
  • Interview your nominees with a set of 10 questions.

1. What does blogging do for you?

2. What blogger(s) feed your soul? Why?

3. What is your favorite subject (category) to blog about?

4. What post of yours means the most to you? Why?

5. Why did you first start your blog and why?

6. What do you hope your blog will someday become?  Who do you want to reach?

7. What are you most passionate about?

8. If your writing were discovered a hundred years from now, what would people learn about you, today’s world, and your interests?

9. Who do you most want to read your blog?  Your mom?  The president?

10. Describe your writing process.

IMG_3653

Stay tuned for my next blog post – it involves Christmas and cake!

One thought on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

