A Day in the Life

Perhaps after several weeks or months of reading my blog, you are beginning to want a more exact picture of my fabulous expat life. So here’s my daily schedule, and you can decide for yourself how fabulous you think it is.

IMG_3597

If we can go diving without water, do you think we could be fabulous without being expats?

The first thing I do each morning is drink Nescafe. Instant coffee may be uncool in the U.S., but I have to admit that I love it. It’s usually my main reason for getting out of bed in the morning (it’s getting harder and harder now that it’s nearly winter.). At 6:45am, I head to the bus to go to the school, at which point it is often still dark and the streets are only populated by men who went to the dawn prayer (I bet you they’re on their way back to bed). I teach from 7:15am until 3:30pm, though since I work with kids, a lot of that time is spent assisting my students as they eat, play, go to and from gym class, and hit each other with blocks (oh wait, we don’t do that….)

IMG_2726

This is what I see as I leave school every day (although it’s not usually this sunny at 5pm….)

At 3:30, I sometimes teach English to parents of children at the school, which is always a lot of fun.  And not just because the adults never hit each other; they also have really interesting stories, and I enjoy listening to them and thinking about how to help them improve their English. I get home between 5:00pm and 6:00pm, and usually prepare dinner right when I get home. And it is usually delicious, due to my cooking prowess.

Three nights a week I have French class for two hours, but I’m hoping to start going to French bible study soon in lieu of classes. I’m thinking that will be more efficient since I’ll get French immersion plus life guidance at the same time. Or rather, if I want the guidance, I’ll have to work really hard to understand the French! When I’m not in French class, I invent new foods (I’m too cool for recipes), use Skype, read, watch movies with friends, and work on my dear blog.

IMG_3531 copy

This isn’t actually the church I go to, but it’s pretty cool anyway.

So there you have it!  What about you, fellow expats?  What are your daily lives like?  How does your host country affect your daily schedule? Are you able to continue doing the activities you enjoy?  What new activities have you found?
Leave a Reply

