I’m not Angry, I’m Hungry!

Pronunciation in the English language is one of the greatest hurdles for learners of English as a foreign language.  As the Frenchman G. Nolst Trenité so wisely put it:

Dearest creature in creation,
Study English pronunciation.
I will teach you in my verse
Sounds like corpse, corps, horse, and worse.

Finally, which rhymes with enough,
Though, through, plough, or dough, or cough?
Hiccough has the sound of cup.
My advice is to give up!

This is hard for me to read and it’s my first language!  I can only imagine the challenges my students go through, especially when they have American teachers using British books.  I’m still working on figuring out how to explain certain pronunciation and grammar rules, and every once in a while I come across silly words in the Headway English series like lorry, bloke, and dustman (what is a dustman?).  I’m thankful that my first language is English, but I’ll have to keep working on Arabic and French so that I can save my coworkers from having to struggle with English pronunciation whenever they’re with me!

IMG_2667

This little boy is hungry, not angry.

Leave a Reply

